When the Queen met with President Obama, he tried to convince her that the UK needed more American football. 

History of Washington DC

Washington, DC is located in the mid-Atlantic region, about 90 miles inland from the Atlantic Ocean, south of Maryland, north of Virginia and 233 miles south of New York City. The city is separated from Virginia to the south by the Potomac River. Washington, DC covers 68 square miles. It was built on land that was originally part of Maryland and Virginia. The city is divided into four quadrants, or sections: Northwest, Southwest, Northeast and Southeast. The U.S. Capitol building marks the center of the city and is where the four quadrants meet.

The city was founded in 1791. Georgetown, which is one of the city’s most famous neighborhoods, was founded before Washington, DC, in 1751. It was incorporated as part of the city of Washington, DC in 1791. Before Washington, DC became the capital of the United States, other cities that served as capital include New York City, Philadelphia and Annapolis. It takes its name from our first president, George Washington. The "Columbia" in "District of Columbia" stands for Christopher Columbus. It is not a city or state, nor is it part of any other state. It is a unique "federal district," created specifically to be the seat of government.

Just like people who live in states, DC residents pay federal and local taxes, but they do not have a voting representative in Congress. DC residents do have representation, but the representative cannot vote and can only sit on committees. When there’s a presidential election, the Electoral College gives Washington, DC the same number of votes as the smallest state, even if it has a larger population. Unlike the states, when DC receives federal funding, it also gets special orders on how to spend the money. The President of the United States appoints Washington, DC’s local judges. In states, judges are appointed by state officials. Before 1974, Congress appointed the people who would govern Washington, DC. Now there is an elected mayor and 13-member city council. Even though the mayor and city council govern the city, Congress still reviews and sometimes changes DC’s laws and budget. No states have their laws and budget reviewed by Congress.

In meters, what is the height of the structure from which this photo was taken?